James Park, a junior nursing student at John Brown University in Siloam Springs, has been selected as the recipient of the 2021 Korean American Scholarship Foundation scholarship. Park was one of 20 students from the Southwest region to receive the scholarship.

KASF is a non-profit organization established to help meet the financial needs of Korean-American students who wish to pursue higher education.

Park, who will graduate in May 2023, assists patients at Siloam Nursing and Rehab with her mandatory clinical placements at a nursing school.

John Brown University is a premier private Christian university, training students to honor God and serve others since 1919.



The University of Arkansas at Little Rock welcomed 99 new members of the Chancellor’s Leadership Corps who joined the University Leadership Program during the 2021-22 school year.

CLC is a leadership development program that provides a student-centered experience focused on leadership building, academic achievement and cultivates a dedicated service learning environment that will positively impact the community.

CLC scholarship recipients receive a financial envelope totaling up to $ 32,000 through a renewable four-year scholarship. CLC is UA Little Rock’s oldest and largest program. Dr. Dorothy Truex started the program in 1976 with just 17 scholarship recipients.

Local students selected for the Chancellor’s Leadership Corps include Jacob Adams, a graduate of Bentonville High School; Abigail Gavina, a graduate of Waldron High School; Madison Popa, a graduate of Southside High School in Fort Smith; Shaelyn Pouncil, graduate of Alpena High School; and Stéphanie Sandoval, graduate of Decatur high school.

Members of the Chancellor’s Leadership Corps have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0. In addition to their academic work, CLC students volunteer for community service on campus and in the community. They also participate in one professional or personal development program per academic year. CLC students are heavily involved in the management of the Trojan Food Pantry and the Trojan Career Closet.



Lehigh University Welcomes William Stewart of Fort Smith to Class of 2025!

Members of the Class of 2025 represent 43 U.S. states and territories, including Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia, and 29 countries, making it one of the most diverse and competitive classes ever admitted to Lehigh.

For more than 150 years, Lehigh University, located in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, has combined exceptional academic and learning opportunities with leadership in promoting innovative research.



Two seniors from Rogers’ Providence Classical Christian Academy have been named National Merit Semifinalists, making PCCA the only private school in Northwest Arkansas to receive the honor of two laureates. Breck Husong and Christopher Henley, both PCCA students since kindergarten, are among 141 Arkansans and approximately 16,000 semifinalists nationwide named in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

Christopher, who plans to major in biochemistry, is the son of Dr Noel and Marissa Henley of Springdale. Breck is the son of Rob and Carrie Husong of Cave Springs and plans to pursue a degree in electrical engineering. The two will continue to compete for some 7,500 national scholarships worth nearly $ 30 million to be offered next spring.

Founded in 2004, PCCA is a Christ-centered college prep school, consistently ranked among the top 10 private schools in Arkansas.



Samriti Gupta of Bentonville has been named to LIM College’s Dean’s List for the spring semester of 2021. To be on the Dean’s List, students must achieve a GPA of between 3.50 and 3.79.

Founded in 1939, LIM College, located in Manhattan, trains students to succeed in the global fashion business and its many related fields. As a pioneer of experiential education, or ‘learning by doing’, LIM College fosters a unique connection between real-world experience and the academic study of business principles, by offering master’s degree programs, baccalaureate and associate diploma.



Jaycie Keylon of Harrison, a student at the University of Mississippi’s Faculty of Pharmacy, received the traditional white coat during a ceremony at the Gertrude C. Ford Center in Oxford.

Keylon was one of 102 students to don the white coats and recite the Pledge to Professionalism that binds them to the responsibilities of the profession. The white coat is a symbol of professionalism and this ceremony marks the beginning of their professional journey to become a pharmacist.

Founded in 1908, the UM School of Pharmacy is ranked among the top 25 pharmacy schools in the country and is home to the internationally renowned National Center for Natural Products Research in Jackson, Mississippi.



This fall, the University of Iowa, located in Iowa City, hosted the most academically accomplished class in its history for the fifth consecutive year. The incoming undergrad class again surpassed previous achievement records with a higher high school grade point average (GPA) average, at 3.81, than any previous class.

Among those who signed up this fall were Melissa Alvarez of Lowell, majoring in psychology, and Kaylee Serrano of Rogers, majoring in computer science and engineering.



Raul Sierra of Rogers is one of 27 students who received a white coat from the College of Pharmacy at Harding University. The ceremony represents the educational transition from general undergraduate studies to professional pharmacy training.

Harding University is a private Christian liberal arts university located in Searcy.



Coach David Calloway and the coaching staff at Central Methodist University have released the Eagle 2021 football team roster. The following local students will compete for the Eagles at the NAIA Heart of America Conference:

Matthew Allred of Rogers; Roberto Palacios of Rogers; and Cooper Tillman of Garfield.

Since its founding in 1854, CMU has grown into a master’s, bachelor’s, and associate’s degree university through programming at its main campus in Fayette, Missouri, and through extension sites and online. .


Send school news to [email protected]

Rogers High School will celebrate the reunion with a coronation ceremony at 1:30 p.m. Friday at Whitey Smith Stadium. The Reunion Parade will follow starting at 4 p.m. in downtown Rogers. A pre-game presentation of Queen Aliza Tinnon and King Noah Goodshield and the court will take place at 6:30 p.m. The first year escorts are Zach Lawing, Corbin Willhite and Alan Perez, and the first year maids are Ainsley Biggs, Regina Valverde and Brooklyn Owens. The second year escorts are Nick Montoya, Colton Corcoran and Payson Jones, and the second year maids are Abbie Sappington, Ava Schlump and Anna Welton. The junior escorts are Eros Valencia, Lance Wike and Daniel Camacho, and the junior maids are Ella Bohannon, Aubrey Holloway and Karen Corletto. The senior escorts are Christian Elder, CJ Herman, Joel Garner and Alex Sanchez, and the senior servants are Dulce Trujillo, Grace Stahr, Ellie McEntire and Hailey Lairamore. Reid Tebbenkamp is the ball carrier and the crown carrier is Blake Grigsby. (Courtesy photo / RHS)

Source link

Recommended Posts

No comment yet, add your voice below!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *